Phantasy Star 1 in Minecraft

Quest for justice and vengeance with the beginning of the saga.

Phantasy Star 1 in Minecraft

Postby Catreina » Wed Jul 11, '12, 5:26 pm

Update - new progress updates and a quick question:

I am looking for ideas for my next pixel art creation - I am not an artist per-se, so it has to be an actual image I can use. I would like the next piece to be from Phantasy Star 1, but if there aren't any good ones, I will take art from any of the series, so long as it relates to PS1 in some way (like the Rolf/Eusis' dream intro, or the statue from PS4, etc).

Updates at bottom of OP, and OP below

-----

So I have been a lurker here (and most other Phantasy Star boards) for as long as I can remember. I decided to register because I have taken on a project of immense size, as evidenced by the thread title.

I will not post links until I am told I can do so, but the backstory is thus:

So I started playing Minecraft on June 27th - after having said I would never do such a thing.... and something profound happened.

In the darkness that was my ignorance of Minecraft, I found a holy torch; a shining prism that would forever show me things that were not otherwise visible. I saw Minecraft for what it truly was - a gateway to my childhood and the journey for revenge that was the first ever Role-Playing game I played outside of a tabletop setting.

There I was, learning about Minecraft, playing a hardcore world in single player while sometimes going onto a friends server for fun, when a conversation started. It was caused by the sheer number of things built by people on that server, and with my ignorance of all things Minecraft prior to this, I realized something so suddenly that it almost floored me (I had my trusty crystal though!)

I could re-create Phantasy Star in Minecraft.... as homage to the series I have loved for almost 25 years.