Godzilla games

Discussing all the gaming matters not covered in the other forums.

Godzilla games

Postby Thoul » Sat Oct 6, '07, 9:58 am

Has anyone ever found a really enjoyable game featuring Godzilla? I've always wanted to control him as he stomps through a city and wrecks havoc on power lines and buildings. :lol: I remember playing one game on the NES, but it more of a platformer when monsters going through space or alien planets, as I recall.

I saw a PlayStation 2 game at a GameStop a couple of weeks ago. Has anyone played it? I'm wondering what it's like.
Last edited by Thoul on Tue Oct 9, '07, 6:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Thoul
Administrator
Administrator

Achievements: 123

Postby Tsunami » Sat Oct 6, '07, 7:42 pm

I liked the NES one, though I'm not very good at it... However, I'd recommend Super Godzilla for the SNES -- it's a little different as far as the general gameplay goes (you control Godzilla as he walks through cities and looks for the enemy...generally, you press a direction and he keeps going that way and smashing through buildings will kill your overall score and injure Godzilla), but I enjoyed the fighting in that game. (which is similar to the NES Godzilla game to some degree)

If the PS2 game is the one I'm thinking of, then it's actually pretty fun. (my older brother bought it!) You can smash up buildings, fight the 2nd player or computer, face off against enemy after enemy, etc.. I haven't played it much, but the one time I tried it, it was pretty fun. Lots of modes to choose from, too, from what I recall.

EDIT: I should probably elaborate on how the battles are played out in the SNES game. You go forward, whack the enemy, and then you keep walking back until you can select an attack (however, this process is random). You can also use power-ups to make Godzilla stronger, too. Not too hard, but with some enemies it's kinda tricky... As some attacks won't even work!